Vanity Mishap

So remember how we had a custom vanity and storage cabinet made for our main bathroom? And remember how we were going to have furniture like feet? Well apparently the cabinet maker didn’t. I had clearly explained it and drew up multiple drawings that were dimensioned out. Anal? Yes. Useful? I thought so but he only took the drawing of the front and not the side.

So when we finally got around to trying to install the cabinets and we realized the base was built with a standard toe kick that was recessed 4″ behind the face of the cabinet we were frustrated. You couldn’t see the feet all all under the cabinets nor the actual toe kick behind it. We had to delay installing the vanity until the following weekend but unfortunately we weren’t able to get what I originally wanted because the face of the cabinet was built to overhang the box like a standard cabinet. So the best compromise we could come up with is having the feet just behind the overhang of the face. Not exactly what I wanted but it did end up looking intentional and you can see the feet.

 

Installing a toe kick + furniture feet is an idea I came up with to help keep the area under the cabinets clean. I loved the look of furniture feet but I didn’t want to have to do exploratory digging to get dust bunnies out from under the back. A full plate toe kick set 4″ behind the feet took care of the issue and was barely able to be seen in the farthest away point of the bathroom. But to make it even more invisible we painted it black to look more like a shadow.

Installed it doesn’t look half bad. Glad that fix turned out so well!

We did have a slight issue with the side panel being too tight. I guess he didn’t design the back of the cabinet to be attached exactly flush to the wall. Flannel Man later pried the panel back out and trimmed it down so it can expand and contract like it was meant to.

 

Flannel Man and Papa Flannel got a tight fit around the pipes in the base of the cabinet (which is another thing that is nicely hidden by the toe kick). They had to turn the water off and drain the lines so they could turn the handles to be in line with the pipes.

I knew the sconce would be close but it looks closer than I had planned. The pivot mirror I got pushed the sconces out farther than I would have liked. The cabinet fits so I guess that is all that matters.

The organized array of electrical boxes is starting to look good with the switch, timer, in-floor heat thermostat, and GFCI outlet installed.

We’re a little worried about the gap the panel along the cabinet. Hopefully the granite will line up and cover that. These floating side panels ended up causing a lot of issues.

 

Overall we love the cabinets though! (Ignore the sawdust and tools or the fact that the doors and drawers are still downstairs I was too excited taking pictures.)

Look we have a vanity and a storage cabinet!

19 Responses to “Vanity Mishap”


  1. 1 Wawa March 16, 2012 at 7:41 am

    I love it! The little details will get you every time, but it seems like you worked around them no problem. And it’s absolutely beautiful. That wood grain just makes me drool. And I love the furniture feet + toekick.

    Seriously though…that wood. I want to snuggle up to it like a cat. (that’s weird though…right?)

    • 2 Robin March 16, 2012 at 10:26 am

      LOL no that is not weird! I am in love with it too. I catch myself stopping to look at it as I walk by sometimes. I can’t wait to use this bathroom everyday!

  2. 3 merylr0se March 16, 2012 at 9:03 am

    Excellent way to solve the problem! You totally can’t see the toe kick. And I love the finish color with your wall color. Can’t wait to see it with the counter, sink and mirror, eeee!!!! :)

    • 4 Robin March 16, 2012 at 10:29 am

      OMG the mirror is going to be like jewelry for the space I tell yah. It want so badly to get it our of the box in the basement and hang it up but we need to wait until the granite top, backsplash, and faucet are in to see what looks best. We put more than one level of bracing in the wall so the height is flexible.

  3. 5 Peter March 16, 2012 at 9:25 am

    I love the stain of those cabinets. Mind if I ask what sconces those are? I like the shape of the glass and have been looking for something similar.

    • 6 Robin March 16, 2012 at 11:26 am

      Actually they aren’t stained. It’s just solid walnut with a clear coat. The sconces are a schoolhouse style. You can find lots of flushmounts and pendants with the same style cover. Ours are Hudson Valley’s Winslow sconces. Hope that helps!

  4. 8 Kristy March 18, 2012 at 4:31 pm

    It looks great! I love the idea of the toe kick behind – I too like the look of feet but hate having to clean that far back. We’re just starting the tiling in our master bathroom – looking at your pictures gives me more motivation to continue!

  5. 9 Carrie @ Hazardous Design March 20, 2012 at 7:22 pm

    I know these details are frustrating and annoying, but let me assure you that it is going to look gorgeous. I mean, it already does and it isn’t even finished yet!

  6. 10 Tina Morris April 6, 2012 at 3:11 pm

    OMG…I can’t believe I came across your blog and it was just in the nick of time! We are getting to make a huge bathroom purchase at Lowe’s this weekend and I can’t decide on the floor tile. I was trying to research the Caterina tiles and found you! I don’t recall seeing a sample of this tile at Lowes and am a little hesitant to purchase something unseen. We are looking at this vanity

    http://www.lowes.com/pd_66795-62415-LW113A02_0__?productId=3560606&Ntt=allen+roth+vanity&pl=1&currentURL=%2Fpl__0__s%3FNtt%3Dallen%2Broth%2Bvanity&facetInfo=

    but I am a little concerned the two different marble looks would clash. I am having such a hard time with this!

    Thanks for all the info you have posted so far. I saw the grout a few days ago and am glad to hear that you liked it!

    PS: I think you and I could be besties because I am just a little particular about my colors (among other things) too.

  7. 11 merylr0se May 4, 2012 at 2:35 pm

    ROBIN! Send me your email, I’ve got a question for you: meryl.phillips@mindspring.com

  8. 12 Erin @ The Impatient Gardener May 23, 2012 at 7:40 am

    Oh gosh, this brings back (not-so-good) memories. We had so many issues with our vanity and getting the lights placed in the right locations was a major pain (I think we had to patch drywall at least once or twice). And then all those switches! I know how frustrating it all is (and by the way, your drawings couldn’t have been more clear). If it’s any consolation, everything is looking really great and soon it will all be over!

  9. 13 mike @HA May 24, 2012 at 2:23 pm

    How’s the reno coming?! Need an update!

  10. 14 Mel May 25, 2012 at 10:52 am

    Robin, you guys alright?

    • 15 Robin July 12, 2012 at 2:34 pm

      Whoops sorry Mel I thought this said Meryl at first glance and posted my response over on here blog. Yes we’re fine. Just very busy. Getting done with my big test and the shooting season.

  11. 16 Carrie May 31, 2012 at 6:35 pm

    Any updates on the reno?

  12. 17 Angella November 19, 2012 at 11:39 pm

    What happened to the blog? :( Loved watching the progress of your home.

  13. 18 Jo December 3, 2012 at 2:53 pm

    Are you coming back? I hope so! I keep checking and am sad nothing has been updated.

  14. 19 Jean January 22, 2013 at 11:41 am

    The bathroom must be finished by now. What else is happening? Miss your updates. We are remodeling a bathroom and did our floor exactly the same way- it was a challenge- getting the floor flattened out after those cursed heating mats. Glad I had your blog to give me the courage to keep moving forward. I am a woman engineer, too!


Leave a Reply

This is the story of two twenty something newlyweds who are learning to adjust to life in their first house, a 1973 fixer-upper.
DIY Savings

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

