After The Rain

We got a lot done this weekend including re-roofing the shed. But I’m too sore and tired to write about it right now so enjoy some pictures I took last Friday after a storm came through. I’m going to go try to wash the shingle “rocks” out of my hair now…

 

 

 

11 Responses to “After The Rain”


  1. 1 Cara June 3, 2008 at 4:09 am

    Your photography is wonderful, you truly have a knack for it. No formal training? I would never guess! Looking forward to seeing you house transform!

  2. 2 denise June 3, 2008 at 2:39 pm

    Hi Robin–Thanks for letting me know about your houseblog! I’ve got some catching up to do. 🙂
    The photos are great and I’m looking forward to reading about your house.
    Hey, it looks like we have the same kayak — is that a Prijon?

  3. 3 Robin June 3, 2008 at 6:28 pm

    Cara ~ Ha, no no formal training. I don’t even know how to use all the buttons on my camera yet. : ) Oh, and what kind of freelance art do you do? I love looking at new art.

    Denise, I think we were twins separated at birth. I can’t believe you kayak too! Heck ya that’s a Prijon. I love that thing. It’s super fast and it’s tough to scratch. Oh, and the easy to reach storage compartment is to die for! Seriously, they say women buy cars because of the cup holders well I was sold on this kayak because of that storage compartment. Plus, it’s one of the only affordable kayaks that has adjustable kneepads for my freakishly long legs. I have the Motion model how about you? Do you do a lot of kayaking? We just got our kayaks last year and have been doing short trips here and there.

  4. 4 denise June 3, 2008 at 9:14 pm

    Too funny! Of course it’s a Motion! And, let me guess, you bought it from Rutabaga/Canoecopia?! We bought ours a couple years ago — mine is red and Pete’s is “mango” (which I like to tease him about). Yes, those compartments are awesome!!

    We don’t do as much kayaking as Pete would like, mainly because of me (I always want to work on projects at home with our limited time). We haven’t been out yet this year but we’ll go to his family’s cottage near Bristol/Kenosha over Father’s Day and do some then. Pete is good at water skiing, windsurfing, etc., but kayaking is pretty much the only water sport I like.

  5. 5 Robin June 3, 2008 at 9:37 pm

    LOL! We bought mine from Rutabaga and FM’s from Canoecopia. We got a nice discount on his because it was being replaced with a new style. It was the only touring kayak that fit his small frame very well. But he’s jealous of mine now because his scratches so much easier and the scratches show more too.

    I wanted to get the aqua color but since FM already had a dark blue kayak I didn’t think it would look good in pictures so I got the mango color. (Yes, I’m always thinking about photography.) I’ve got a couple cool pictures in my kayak that just wouldn’t have looked as good if I had had a blue kayak. There’s one I really love that I’ll have to post on here sometime to show you. I didn’t realize until we went to Canoecopia that “mango” was such a standard color. Every manufacturer seems to make that color and call it “mango.” I have a mango colored PFD and paddle also. I used to tease FM that if we ever get lost in the wilderness they will find me first because I’m all mangoed out.

    That’s cool that you have a nearby cabin you can kayak at. We typically go kayaking on the WI River but it’s always a trick trying to get your vechiles at the end of the day. Hopefully, we’ll be able to go kayaking at FM’s parents cabin in Canada this summer. It’s a good 13-14 hour drive though so we don’t always make it up there.

    Wow, so cool that I’ve made a kayaking friend through our house blogs. : )

  6. 6 jenni June 8, 2008 at 5:28 pm

    Lovely pics. I enjoyed reading your your house and 3acres. And, all about the PO. Yikes.

  7. 7 Robin June 8, 2008 at 5:59 pm

    Thanks for visiting Jenni, I enjoy reading your blog too! It took me a while to figure out that PO meant previous owner. : ) Yeah, she was something else. I’m planning on writing a couple posts about our home buying process later because there’s a lot more I haven’t posted about yet. She seemed like she was bi-polar because she was a sweet “old” lady one minute and a complete psycho the next. But it was all worth it to get this house so I guess that’s all that matters in the end.

  8. 8 Julia June 8, 2008 at 8:14 pm

    Ah, I just put two and two together and found this blog of yours! Yay. I love summery flowers and just took a whole bunch of pictures myself. I feel like we’ve been waiting for this warm weather FOREVER. Can’t wait to follow your adventure!

  9. 9 Robin June 10, 2008 at 4:16 am

    Ha, ha Julia I thought you knew who I was posting over there all this time! Sorry, I guess I should have introduced my new name. : ) I have a bunch more outdoor pictures to post but I’ve been so swamped lately. So stay tuned…

  10. 10 Todd June 10, 2008 at 11:13 am

    Thanks for stopping by my blog last night. You have a nice blog going here. I’ll certainly keep you on my list of cool blogs to follow.

    Todd

  11. 11 Robin June 10, 2008 at 2:24 pm

    Thanks for stopping by Todd! It’ll be nice to have someone who can supply some good technical advice.


Leave a Reply

This is the story of two twenty something newlyweds who are learning to adjust to life in their first house, a 1973 fixer-upper.
DIY Savings

