Odds & Ends

Well I’ve been extremely busy at work and home for the last couple weeks and will continue to be until the end of June. This past weekend we shot another long range match with old friends from across the country that I haven’t seen in five years. It was nice to catch up with everyone and see what they have been up to. Next weekend is our first anniversary. We don’t have any plans set in stone but I know it will be a good time. I don’t have time to write a bunch of huge indepth posts so on to the odds and ends going on with our house…

 

We thought we might have fixed the oven. Flannel Man found the instructions on how to reset the oven by up to 35 degrees in the owner’s manual. Well as we were cooking dinner that night the oven magically got to the maximum 550 degrees we had it set at and it burnt our dinner. The next night it was back to being 200 degrees off. So we reset it and it was at 400 degrees when it was set to 300 degrees! Will this thing make up it’s mind?! We’ve got to get this figures out so we can cook regularly again. I think we need to replace the thermostat and we found the part number for it but now we have to find somewhere that carrries replacement parts for a 35 year old oven. Otherwise, we might resort to buying a used oven on Craigslist.

 

While the oven was acting up our pizza oven broke. It was a sad, sad day at our house. You see if Flannel Man was forced to eat one food for the rest of his life it would be pizza. He loves the stuff and has it almost every week. Well I guess we’re down to the microwave, the George Forman, and our uneven stovetop.

 

We’ve found that the spider I saw earlier wasn’t the only one. We’ve found them in our bedroom, the study, the main and master bathrooms, the entryway, and more in the kitchen. They are big and gross and as one crawled between my bare feet last night I just about freaked out. Slippers are my friends. You can walk anywhere you want and you would never know what kind of bug you almost stepped on. I’m not really sure how you’re supposed to get rid of spiders. But I hope while they’re here they eat all of our ants and moths.

 

On to some better news, we’re working on decorating our master bedroom. We have a paint color picked out, new artwork for over the bed, and our new bed frame should be coming any day now. I have a couple photos I want to enlarge and hang up over our dressers. We want them matted and in nice cherry frames to match our new bed frame. And since we don’t have a lot of extra cash right now we’ll probably make them ourselves. Hopefully my dad can help. He used to mat and frame prints as Christmas presents to his clients. I also might be DIY a new duvet cover and shams since I’m having a hard time finding a reasonable priced set I like. I just need to borrow my mom’s sewing machine and brush up on how exactly to sew. : )

 

We also might be adding furniture restoration to our list of things to do. Our dining room table is an antique Grandpa Flannel found at an auction years ago and Papa Flannel recently found the matching chairs for it. The chairs haven’t been used because they are in pretty rough shape but we’d like to try to bring them back to life. They have some cool details that match the table but as a whole they’re kind of ugly. So we have a couple ideas on how to update them. I’ll post more about them later.

 

My friends over at One Project Closer are hosting a neat Before and After contest that started this past weekend. All you have to do is submit before and after pictures with a brief description and you’re entered in. At the end of the summer there will be a vote for the winner who will recieve a $50 gift certificate to any home improvment store. But the best part of the whole thing is that if your entry is chosen to be featured that week One Project Closer will donate $25 to Habitat for Humanity. What a great way to show off your great projects and help a good cause. I myself have volunteered for Habitat for Humanity a number of times and have experienced first hand what kind of difference it has been able to make in my community. I hope you’ll all join in!

 

And because this post doesn’t have any pictures I want to post a couple I recently took at work. I work in a business park that is environmentally consensus. There is a minimum requirement of green space and of natural Wisconsin prairie. In an attempt to make up for the prairie that was lost by the buildings in the park there are two big nature preserves with trails on either side of the business park. We have everything from hawks to coyotes (yes, coyotes) that live around our building. There are tons of birds in the area and because I work on the Ground/Garden Level I get to see them throughout the day. Lately we’ve had a flock of goldfinch and mating pair of sandhill cranes come around everyday. I finally brought my camera to work one day and got a couple quick shots. The sandhill crane one is kind of craptastic but my boss wasn’t to keen on my photography endeavors so I had to just get some quick shots.

Sorry for the weird colors. Shooting through tinted glass can be tricky.

The female goldfinch.

 

The male goldfinch with his bright yellow summer feathers.

 

According to my trusty bird book sandhill cranes are one of the worlds tallest birds and their rusty brown stain is from the mud they use during preening. You can see their typical gray color under their wings. I’m kicking myself in the butt for not having my camera when this pair were doing their mating dances. They face each other while bowing, jumping, and singing to each other. Next year I’m going to bring my camera to work everyday around that time and try to get a picture of that amazing act. I don’t care what my boss has to say.

 

 

7 Responses to “Odds & Ends”


  1. 1 Danielle June 24, 2008 at 8:22 pm

    I don’t know about slippers, but the 3″ heels can do a better job to get rid of crunchy bugs!

  2. 2 Kristin June 24, 2008 at 9:45 pm

    For the spiders I would consider calling the “Orkin Man” – or any local pest control place…They did job for me. Our old house has critters, all of which I hate and it sounds like you take it much better than me (I scream, run and hide when I see a spider of any size). But anyways we had Orkin come out and now they come every 2 mo. and spray and I haven’t seen a creepy crawly for along time now. They where resonable in price too. Great bird shots!

  3. 3 Leah June 25, 2008 at 3:11 am

    I absolutely love that your business park is conscious of the WI prairie and your pics are fantastic!

  4. 4 Robin June 25, 2008 at 3:27 am

    LOL Danielle! I can’t wait to take off my heels at the end of the day so I’ll stick to my comfy slippers.

    Kristin ~ Dang I was hoping we could just buy some at home product. We might have to get someone in here after we get some of the boxes cleared out of here.

    Leah ~ Yeah, I love that too. My company is very environmentally conscious so it was a good fit. The worst part is that I constantly have bird crap on my car! They have acres of prairie to go on but they always seem to find my car. : )

  5. 5 Miz Booshay June 25, 2008 at 9:28 pm

    Look at your gorgeous birds.

    I would die to have a Sand Hill Crane in my yard!

    Beautiful pictures!!!

  6. 6 fred@opc June 27, 2008 at 12:29 am

    Thanks a bunch for letting your readers know about our event. We hope a bunch of folks will submit articles.

  7. 7 hookedonhouses June 28, 2008 at 7:36 pm

    Those photos are gorgeous! What beautiful birds.

    Thanks for telling us about the before & after contest. That sounds like fun. Love that they’re making a contribution to Habitat, too. I’m going to check it out. If I could get my dining room finished up in time, I might submit photos of it.

    Happy first anniversary!!!
    -Julia 🙂


Leave a Reply

This is the story of two twenty something newlyweds who are learning to adjust to life in their first house, a 1973 fixer-upper.
DIY Savings

