Going Geothermal: An Eight Part Mini-Series

As I mentioned in my last post we’re converting our house from a traditional fuel oil furnace to a sustainable geothermal ground source heat pump. But instead of just telling you about our system I want to go into depth and do a series of posts about everything you need to know as a home owner if you’re considering going geothermal. When I was researching residential geothermal systems I was disappointed in the quality of info out there about geothermal systems. Yes, there is lots of info about geothermal systems but almost all of it is describing how ground loops work. Go ahead and Google “geothermal systems” you’ll find pretty graphics of cold water/refrigerant mixtures going into the ground and hot water/refrigerant coming out. Once you wrap your head around the concept of getting heating and cooling from the Earth is that all you need to know as a home owner? The answer is NO.
In an effort to help inform others I’m going to write an 8 part mini-series from my point of view as a homeowner and HVAC engineer. I’ll give you every question you need to ask your contractor and calculations you can do to determine the true cost of going geothermal. If you’ve ever considered installing a geothermal system you’ll want to read this!

To follow the series just follow my blog or click on the new “going geothermal” button I created on the right menu bar.

logo 2

6 Responses to “Going Geothermal: An Eight Part Mini-Series”


  1. 1 sord87 October 27, 2009 at 4:22 pm

    That is quite a good post about geothermal heat-have you installed?I think since you are an engineer those points you have in the article probably the most convincing ideas of geothermal.

    • 2 Robin October 28, 2009 at 4:04 am

      Actually yes we just had it installed a week ago but I wrote this post before we had it all in. I’ve been working on these posts for a while and I have a bunch of pictures so stay tuned!

  2. 3 Pablo January 26, 2010 at 7:00 pm

    Congratulations for a wonderful blog! It’s really great.

    My wife and I are starting to contact geothermal contractors, so your story is really useful for us.

    I was wondering if you could make a few comments about “the true cost of a geothermal system” – I realize it’s part 6 of your ‘going geothermal’ series, but it would be really helpful.

    All the best,

    Pablo

  3. 4 Audrey October 13, 2010 at 1:14 pm

    Your Geothermal Blog is extremely informative from a homeowner’s perspective. I especially appreciate Part 3 as we’ve received 3 different quotes suggesting different sized systems and are now estimating what we think our heating load should be.

    Do you think you will add on to your mini series? I’d love to learn more about your experience.

    Thanks!

    Audrey

    • 5 Robin October 13, 2010 at 2:23 pm

      Thanks Audrey! It was a lot of work to write this series because they need to be full of techinical data but simple enough to read. I’m working on the next part right now. I hope to have the serires finished soon.


  1. 1 Yes, We Built A Walk-In Gun Safe « 3 acres & 3000 square feet Trackback on June 8, 2010 at 4:34 am

Leave a Reply

This is the story of two twenty something newlyweds who are learning to adjust to life in their first house, a 1973 fixer-upper.
DIY Savings

