Alice

Today I was going to post about the big storm we had over the weekend. I was going to write about how great our new-to-us ATV is at plowing snow. I was going to get the pictures uploaded for the post last night. But instead I was upload pictures of my grandmother who passed away unexpectedly yesterday.

Two days before Thanksgiving she fell and broke her hip. She had surgery to fix it and was at a rehab/nursing home for the past few weeks. My parents were there to see her in the middle of the big storm on Sunday and the doctor was telling them how she was fine and that she’d be coming home on the 22nd in time for Christmas. I was planning to visit her today on my weekly visit.

Yesterday, my grandpa was in to see her in the morning until she had her daily physical therapy session. As the nurse wheeled her off my grandma turned around to smile and wave goodbye. That would be the last time he’d ever see her. After her physical therapy session she said she felt weak so the nurse put her down for a nap. Ten minutes later the nurse came in to check on her and she had passed.

 

They are unsure of what exactly she died from but they suspect it was a blood clot. Besides the broken hip she had a number of other health issue. Four years ago she was diagnosed with Parkinson’s disease. Luckily she was in the very early stages. Two years ago she had a stroke and needed a triple bypass heart surgery. She was slowly losing her ability to do things but she was determined to try. She was in her exercise class for 29 years for example (which is how she broke her hip).

I feel bad for my aunt (her daughter) whose birthday was yesterday and my dad (her son) whose birthday is today. Their birthdays just won’t be the same. Neither will Christmas.

I spent last night with my family going through old pictures and helping pick out what her last outfit would be. I’ve always disliked how little time you have between a person’s death and when they are buried. There are too many things to do in such a little time and you get little to no time to really grieve. When I got home I went through all of the pictures I had on my computer of her. I realized that I had never printed out pictures from her 76th birthday. I must have been too busy…life got in the way and now she’s gone. In those never before seen photos I found this one which we plan to use for her obituary:

I remember taking that shot from the other end of the table with my zoom lens. She was laughing away with some old friends she hadn’t seen in a while. She always did laugh a lot.

Rest in peace grandma. You have forever left an imprint on my heart.

7 Responses to “Alice”


  1. 1 Sarah December 15, 2010 at 5:30 am

    So sorry about your grandmother. Sending you and your family thoughts and prayers. ❤

  2. 2 Monique December 15, 2010 at 2:27 pm

    I totally understand the feeling of life getting in the way of the important things – family. I lost my grandma a few years ago, although Parkinson’s took her much earlier than that. I am very lucky that I have memories of my Nana when she was active as my cousins do not remember Nana prior to her being ill. I wish you and your family comfort in this season and to remember the times you had with your Grandmother with joy.

  3. 3 Eva December 15, 2010 at 5:43 pm

    I am so sorry for your loss. 😦 Losing a grandparent is so hard because they are those rare people who you always knew would support and love you unconditionally.

  4. 4 kitliz @ DIYdiva December 16, 2010 at 2:44 am

    Aw, this is too bad. I’m so sorry for your loss.

    What a great surprise to find this wonderful picture of your grandmother!

  5. 5 jen December 16, 2010 at 1:43 pm

    So sorry for your loss – your grandma sounds like a wonderful, beautiful woman. Take care!

  6. 6 Aleksandra December 16, 2010 at 5:15 pm

    RIP, grandma. This is a beautiful post and a lovely photo. It’s wonderful that you have your family close by so you can support each other through this great loss.

  7. 7 Liz December 17, 2010 at 3:11 am

    I’m so sorry to hear about your grandma. What a wonderful post. Thank you for your words on my blog. You and your family are in my thoughts as we try to get through a very similar situation.


Leave a Reply

This is the story of two twenty something newlyweds who are learning to adjust to life in their first house, a 1973 fixer-upper.
DIY Savings

