Master Bath Idea Board

Thanks for the comments on my last post. I broke down and bought the Restoration Hardware Lugarno and Heath light fixtures over the weekend. The polished nickel was just calling me in even though I couldn’t get the antiqued brass finish I’d originally wanted. Trust me I found plenty of brass fixtures but polished brass = 80’s and hand rubbed antique brass = awesome but pricey. It was a blessing in disguise really because now that we’re trying to pick out the rest of the finishes for the room I’m finding the silvery tones work well with the marbles we like. I know, I know marble right? I’m the first one to tell you that marble stains, etches, and needs to be sealed annually. It just isn’t as practical as manmade surfaces are but it is so pretty that we’re considering it anyway.

I’ve been busy looking at tile, mulling over marble, and researching light fixtures for a while now. The main bathroom is going to have cool gray tones so we wanted the master bath to have warm tones like the adjoining master bedroom will have. In the bedroom we have a handmade cherry bed frame and plan to supplement it with matching cherry nightstands and dresser someday. So to carry that into the bathroom we are looking to have cherry vanities and linen cabinets but in a darker tone. This is what I’ve come up with so far:

Click to Enlarge

    (1) Restoration Hardware Heath flush mount fixture in polished nickel, 17” diameter over the tub

    (2) A combination of cream and tan floor tile from Crossville

    (3) Kohler 6’ long soaking tub with clean simple lines

    (4) Matching tan mosaic tile on the tub base and shower floor from Crossville

    (5) Custom made dark cherry vanities and linen cabinets

    (6) Mirrors with antique mirror “frame” this one is from Z Gallerie but it isn’t the right size for us so we’re hoping to find something similar

    (7) Restoration Hardware Lugarno sconce in polished nickel with bright white mildew resistant silk shades

    (8) Calacutta Gold Marble slab, this is an unusually light colored piece with a creamy white base color

 

I haven’t picked out the shower head, faucets, toilet, exhaust fans, windows, window treatments, sinks, or paint colors yet but it’s a start.

What do you think? Love it? Hate it? Too blah?

9 Responses to “Master Bath Idea Board”


  1. 1 christine January 26, 2011 at 8:48 am

    Wow you have been busy!!See what I get for not checking for a few weeks 🙂 Can’t wait to see what you do with the bathroom.

  2. 2 Mel January 26, 2011 at 8:53 am

    Robin:

    That cabinet has the look of quarter sawn oak. I like it.

  3. 3 niki January 26, 2011 at 12:33 pm

    I love it! [I so want that mirror]

  4. 4 kitliz @ diydiva January 26, 2011 at 12:54 pm

    I think it’s going to have a very timeless look, which is awesome when you’re dealing with tile and things that can’t be removed.

    I vote that the sinks have a similar style to the tub, and the paint color will go a long way in determining how the overall scheme works out!

  5. 5 Jeff & Em January 26, 2011 at 5:37 pm

    I am in LOVE with the tub you picked out, and I think it’d look awesome with sinks that match. I also can’t wait to see the vanities – the one you posted is beautiful! I like what you’ve picked out so far and that it won’t look dated, but right now it’s a little bland and neutral as far as colors go. I don’t get the warm vibe you’re going for yet, but I think picking the right paint and window treatments will fix that. : )

  6. 6 Robin January 26, 2011 at 10:26 pm

    Mel, we’re not sure exactly what kind of wood the cabinets will be. Oak stained in a cherry color or actual cherry but the picture shows the color we’re going for.

    Good points Kit & Em! A rectangular sink in the same white color would match the tub nicely. I think the paint color might be one of the last things we finalize since we’ll need to have the marble slab picked out before. I’ve thinking anything from a beige to ivory to a soft coral. So many directions we could go!

  7. 7 Leslie @ NE PDX Bungalow February 7, 2011 at 11:48 pm

    Have you thought about a wall mounted faucet? We’re going that direction for ease of cleaning. Trying to clean around things like faucets or sink edges is no fun.


  1. 1 Main Bathroom Idea Board « 3 acres & 3000 square feet Trackback on February 2, 2011 at 9:57 pm
  2. 2 Tile, Tile, & More Tile « 3 acres & 3000 square feet Trackback on March 4, 2011 at 8:06 am

Leave a Reply

This is the story of two twenty something newlyweds who are learning to adjust to life in their first house, a 1973 fixer-upper.
DIY Savings

