Seven Things

I was awarded the Versatile Blogger Award by Kyle at Roncesvalles Victorian Reno. Thanks Kyle! I’m now finally getting around to listing my seven things.

Instead of writing 7 random facts about me I was feeling more creative and thought I’d do 7 facts that relate to each other.

1) Its hunting season around here and we’ve been eating a lot of wild game. Neither of us went deer hunting this year but Flannel Man’s uncle, grandpa, and dad did and they ended up with more meat than they wanted. So we unexpectedly spent 20 hours butchering a deer in our garage. Fun times! You know you’re in the country when this is considered normal for this time of year. Then we borrowed a meat grinder and vacuum sealed about 40lb of venison hamburger and steaks. I can’t complain when our chest freezer is stuffed full of free lean meat. Did you know venison is leaner than skinless chicken breasts? Anyone have a good venison recipe they’d like to share?

 

2) Flannel Man just went on his first pheasant hunt at a local farm with a few of his friends. Well actually they went on one last year but it consisted of just walking through a grassy field and they didn’t see anything so that doesn’t count. They each got two birds but no one else wanted the meat so he brought home all six (after cleaning them up of course).

It’s hard to tell in this picture but Flannel Man (center) was using an antique shotgun made in 1910. Most people would consider it purely as an antique or collectable but Flannel Man doesn’t believe in collecting any firearm that doesn’t actually work.

 

3) We found the antique side-by-side shotgun in a pawn shop last year on our road trip to Miami. On our way from Miami to Key Largo we passed a pawn shop that was advertising firearms. Flannel Man begged me to turn around so we did and found this beauty inside.

Flannel Man instantly recognized how old this side-by-side shotgun was because all of the checkering and engraving was done by hand. He was intrigued but didn’t buy it on the spot. We continued on our trip to the Keys. But he just couldn’t stop thinking about it especially after calling some if his friends who are even bigger collectors and knew what it might be worth. So on the way back we kept a close eye out for the hole-in the wall pawn shop and bought it. It was shipped to our local gunsmith (federal regulations mandate this) and Flannel Man found out it wasn’t in working order. It had two broken parts. Of course because it’s handmade and so old you can’t buy replacement parts so he built new ones. After a lot of tinkering he had it up and working.

 

4) Did you read the last one closely? Yes I said road trip to Miami…from Wisconsin. I know I know we’re crazy, right? We drove non-stop from WI to FL each way (that is one big benefit of having a husband who works nights!). It was a really fun time with Flannel Man by my side. We visited the oldest fort in America in St. Augustine, went on a fan boat ride in the Everglades, stayed in a cute little vintage hotel in Miami, went SCUBA diving in Key Largo, and drove to Key West. We even stopped and turned around to help a turtle cross the road.

Maybe some other time I’ll share the beach, sunset, alligator, and underwater SCUBA pictures but this one summed up our trip the best.

 

5) My little Saturn has been everywhere! From Key West to Canada (where my in-laws have a cabin). It’s one awesome little car and rare too. See I don’t have just any old Saturn oh no I have a Homecoming addition! WTH is a Homecoming you say? Well it was a national gathering Saturn owners used to have every four years and the company would make 5,000 special addition cars to celebrate. What is the difference? Well this addition has a combination of fabric and leather seating, a spoiler (you know to go fast), a two toned paint color (gold with light green over the top that is impossible to match BTW), and a backlit speedometer that says “Homecoming” in curly cue (how very 90’s of them) lettering. LOL! And the guy who sold this to me wanted me to pay extra for all of these features. Um no.

 

6) Back when I bought this car mpg was not on everyone’s mind as it is today. But I’ve always been all about efficiency so it was my number one concern. Plus at the time I was moving 100 miles away for nine months. Which meant I was driving home almost every weekend to see Flannel Man. On a regular basis my car gets up to 33 mpg. This worked out well for us later when we bought our house because I drive 25 minutes to work in my more fuel efficient car and FM drives only 5 minutes to work in his handy but not so efficient truck. We need the truck for hauling both of our shooting gear, pulling the trailer, carrying our extra long kayaks, and for our many home improvement trips but it’s nice that Flannel Man doesn’t have to waste gas driving a long distance to work!

 

7) And that is why I love the Madison area. We can live 20 minutes from the city but still own a few acres of land in the country. You can’t do that in a big city! We’re only 5 minutes from town which has the essentials or 20 minutes from the edge of the city aka. Menard’s…which is really all that matters. We’re far enough in the country we can’t see any other houses out of our windows.* It’s the perfect combination if you ask me!

This is a quick morning shot from a few weeks ago.

 

Now I get to pass on this award to 15 of my favorite house bloggers:
DIY Diva
The Turtle House
Russet Street Reno
The Impatient Gardener
Picardy Project
86’n It
At Home Alterations
Sweet Chaos
Newlywoodwards
The Ugly Duckling House
Holyoke Home
Hazardous Design
Chezerbey
One Ugly House
First Time Fancy
Now go check out their awesome blogs!

 

*In the summer that is. In the winter when the trees are bare we can see part of our neighbor’s house out of two bedroom windows.

8 Responses to “Seven Things”


  1. 1 Kevin @ My Dad's Shoes December 7, 2011 at 9:44 am

    I’ve just recently started following you guys, I’m enjoying clicking around your past projects. Plus, it’s nice to read stuff from other midwesterners! I’ve spent many vacations in Oostburg, Three Lakes, Eagle River, and up in the UP.. I definitely miss it.

    Jealous of the shotgun! It looks like a good find.. looks like it’s time for a clay thrower. 🙂

  2. 4 Kyle December 7, 2011 at 1:51 pm

    I knew you guys would have some good stuff to share. As a reader of your blog, i always thought, now there’s a couple who make a great team, and really have a lot of fun together. After reading your 7 things, i now know that i was right about that.

    • 5 Robin December 7, 2011 at 2:17 pm

      : ) Thanks Kyle. You’re right. When this bathroom reno starts to slow down I want to write some more background “getting to know us” posts if people will read them. We have a lot of history together. We meet and became friends over 14 years ago!

  3. 6 merylr0se December 8, 2011 at 11:04 am

    Your meat butchering both terrifies and excites me 🙂 As someone who just held a gun for the first time like a year ago, you could teach me a thing or two 🙂

  4. 7 Carrie @ Hazardous Design December 8, 2011 at 9:31 pm

    Awwww, thanks for thinking of me, and congratulations on your award. It is well deserved!

  5. 8 Rob Dares December 8, 2011 at 10:52 pm

    Hi, nice site you have on the go here. I just came across it. I am enjoying reading your previous posts. I did a home reno many years ago, swore I would never do it again. So far so good. But it was fun when we did it.
    I am curious about the old double shotgun. It looks very similar to one that I have, I believe made in Russia, under the name Baikal. What make is yours? Mine is quite old, but I have no idea how old. I haven’t used it in years, although it is a fairly decent gun to shoot.
    I hope you keep blogging because you have a knack for it.


Leave a Reply

This is the story of two twenty something newlyweds who are learning to adjust to life in their first house, a 1973 fixer-upper.
DIY Savings

